Homemade Cereal with Banana Cream


Since I was a little kid until I hit 20 years old, my favorite breakfast was cereal (now it’s nice-cream with oatmeal if you’re curious) Cocoa puffs, cheerios, you name it. The problem is that they’re filled with sugars and very little fiber. I’ll eat them now, and one hour later I’m starving.


This recipe is from Laura Miller’s video  I just tweaked a few little things and replaced the cashew cream with a banana cream. It’s delicious with coconut/rice milk  or almond milk. And you can turn it into a parfait with the cream.

Homemade Cereal with Banana Cream

Ingredients:

Cereal

  • 2 cups buckwheat groats
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (more if you want it sweeter)
  • .5 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Banana Cream

  • 3 large bananas
  • 3 soft dates
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder optional

Steps:

  1. For the cereal, soak the buckwheat groats for 1-2 hours then rinse it
  2. Mix all the ingredients together very well then spread on Silpat and place the baking tray in the oven
  3. Bake on 200F or 93C for 2 hours.
  4. If you have a dehydrator, then dehydrator on 110F for 10-12 hours
  5. For the cream, mix everything in a high-speed blender or a food processor except for the cacao
  6. If using cacao, then pour half of the mixture into a bowl and add the cacao to the blender and mix
  7. Make your parfait and add anything else you’d want like fruits, cacao nibs, coconut chips, etc.

*I tried it raw and I liked it, but I like anything so don’t take my word for it hehe.

Leave a comment